The Board of the company currently consists of one executive member and six non-executive members, each of whom is considered by the Board to be independent in character and judgment. The Board performs regular reviews of its composition as to background, function and experience, in order to ensure diversity and to balance valuable experience of Idorsia’s business with fresh perspectives.

Board of Directors

Mathieu Simon

Date of birth: 6 May, 1956

Nationality: French

Show more

Education: Université de Paris (Paris 7).

Professional background: Former Chairman of the Board of Cellartis AB, 2012–2014; Executive Vice-President, Chief Operating Officer of Cellectis Group, 2013–2018; CEO of Cellectis Therapeutics, 2012–2013, and CEO of Ectycell, 2012–2014; Managing Director, Head of Global Pharma operations at Pierre Fabre SA, 2010–2011. Various management and EU regional management roles as well as senior corporate functions at Wyeth Pharmaceuticals.

Other activities and functions: Member of the Board of Directors of three listed companies, Affimed, Asarina Pharma and Lysogene, and of two unlisted companies, Epsilen Bio (Chairman) and Vaximm.

Show less

Date of birth: 22 February, 1959

Nationality: German

Show more

Education: Business degrees from the European Business School and Harvard Business School (Advanced Management Program).

Professional background: Chief Executive Officer of uniQure N.V., 2009–2016, President and Chief Executive Officer of Evotec AG, 1997–2008, and former Chairman of the Board of Directors of Molecular Partners, 2007–2018.

Other activities and functions: CEO of the listed company HOOKIPA Pharma Inc. and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the unlisted company Genespire S.r.l.

Show less

Date of birth: 3 April, 1955

Nationality: Swiss and French

Show more

Education: Medical degree in France; further training in pharmacology and physiology at the University of Montreal, Canada, and the University of California, San Francisco, US.

Professional background: Practicing cardiologist, 1980–1985. Head of Drug Discovery Group in the Cardiovascular Department of F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd, 1985–1997. Founder of Actelion in 1997 and CEO 2000–2017.

Other activities and functions: None.

Show less

Date of birth: February 26, 1957

Nationality: Swiss

Show more

Education: Doctorate in law from the University of Zurich, Master of Laws in Business & Taxation from the McGeorge School of Law, California, and further education at Harvard Business School. Attorney-at-Law (since 1986) admitted to practice in Switzerland.

Professional background: Group General Counsel and member of the Executive Committee of Novartis, 2011–2018, Partner, 1992–2011, and Senior Partner and Executive Chairman of Bär & Karrer, 2003–2011. Board member in several listed and non-listed companies.

Other activities and functions: Member of the Board of Directors of one listed company, Geberit AG, and three non-listed companies, Globalance Bank AG (Chairman), Hyos Investment Holding AG and Swiss Fintech AG. Foundation Board Member of the Law and Economics Foundation St. Gallen (University of St. Gallen) and of the UZH Foundation (University of Zurich).

Show less

Date of birth: May 6, 1976

Nationality: American

Show more

Education: Doctor of Medicine (MD) from Harvard Medical School. Masters of Public Policy (MPP) focusing on international development at Harvard Kennedy School of Government. Master’s degrees from the Department of Pathology at University of Cambridge and the Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology at the Harvard Graduate School of Arts and Sciences. Bachelor’s degree from Harvard College. 

Professional background: Global Director, Alumni Strategy and Engagement at McKinsey & Company, 2020-present. Director of Global Development Programs at McKinsey & Company, 2016-2020. Regional Manager, Diversity & Inclusion at McKinsey & Company, 2014-2016. Senior Expert for the McKinsey Global Health Practice at McKinsey & Company, 2003-2014.

Other activities and functions: Member of the Harvard University Global Advisory Council. Vice-Chair on the Board of the International School of Basel.

Show less

Date of birth: March 20, 1956

Nationality: American

Show more

Education: MBA from The Wharton School, BSE from Princeton University.

Professional background: Member of the Board of Directors of Yield10, Inc. (previously Metabolix, Inc.), 2007-2020.

EVP, Chief Corporate Strategy Officer at Celgene Corporation, 2018-2019, Chief Financial Officer at Celgene Corporation, 2014-2018. EVP, Chief Financial Officer of Merck & Co. Inc., 2007-2014. Chief Financial Officer and EVP of Finance at Biogen Idec Inc. 2003-2007. EVP of Finance at Biogen, Inc. 2000-2003. SVP, PepsiCo E-Commerce at PepsiCo Inc. 2000. SVP, Chief Financial Officer at Frito-Lay International, 1998-2000. Served in a variety of senior financial, international and general management positions at PepsiCo and the Pepsi-Cola International, Pepsi-Cola North America, and Frito-Lay international divisions, 1987-1998.

Other activities and functions: None.

Show less

Date of birth: January 24, 1965

Nationality: American

Show more

Education: Master of Laws degrees from Cornell University & New York University and member of the New York State Bar.

Professional background: Chief Financial Officer and Chief Business Officer at Sarepta Therapeutics, 2012–2020, SVP at Celgene, 2006–2012. Held senior roles in business development & tax at Pfizer and began his career at Ernst & Young.

Other activities and functions: Member of the Board of Directors of two listed companies, Aeglea BioTherapeutics (Chairman) and Flexion Therapeutics and Board Member of the unlisted company Epirium Bio; President, COO and CFO of the unlisted company National Resilience, Inc.

Show less

Elections and Terms of Office

Under Articles 13 and 16 of the Articles of Association, the 3–9 members of the Board of Directors are elected individually by the General Meeting of the Shareholders for a term of office corresponding to the legally permitted maximum term of one year. One year of office is understood to be the period from one ordinary Meeting of the Shareholders to the next ordinary Meeting of the Shareholders.

Time of First Election and Remaining Term of Office

Date of AGM of first election Date of AGM of end of term
Mathieu Simon No 2019 2022
Joern Aldag No 2020 2022
Jean-Paul Clozel Yes 2017 2022
Felix R. Ehrat No 2020 2022
Srishti Gupta No 2021 2022
Peter Kellogg No 2021 2022
Sandy Mahatme No 2020 2022